Night Mind

Wrap me in rainbows and the technicolor buzz of the music that’s been playin in some awful club
We’ll take to the streets to fill our lungs with city air
Find a park with swings and soar away with our cares
I want to be open in all the ways you need me
But reservation is preservation and, darling, we both know where this is heading
Did you know the words you inspire taste likes berries in my mouth?
We’re both hiding behind half truths and timing that was off
A melody sung out of sync
When you close your eyes do you think of me?
I’m bombarded with thoughts that don’t belong in my brain
What a shame
What a shame
What a beautiful pity
I’m alive and creating in such a talented city
Surrounded by legends; attempting to sweat the last of this sadness
I’m just a mass of expression and bitter sweet emotion

              Eryn Mackenzie

Leave a comment