January 18th and 19th 2019

Late night drives in January keep callin out my name
Let’s go driving then go gazing
Let me glimpse inside your brain
I’ll glide along each syllable that drips out of your mouth
See that wicked tongue is in my head and the fucker won’t get out
On a moonlit highway somewhere in California we’ll find our voices and scream into the night
RKS and Magic City Hippies blend into the skyline
A watercolor affair with a life that seems so strange at times
There’s a rainbow in the fog and it’s comfort to my dry eyes
Wind whips against the car pushing the tires past the line
White knuckles on the steering wheel; praying for the sunshine

I’m a wreck, but you are too
Let’s get lost within the view
Please be my calm before the storm
We’ll weather winter with our warmth

Sunrise over state lines create silhouettes out of cacti
The desert is my mistress; ocean and forest are my wives
She calls to me with sleep in her eyes as pinks and pale yellows light up the sky
These lives we’re in seem worth it wrapped in beauty so divine
Stop to stretch our bodies; Mary helps to ease my mind
Americanos, purple trees, and Arizona sunlight

Are you alright?
Your hands clasped so tight to your cellular device that kept you up all through the night
The scenery seems simulated
So photogenic through your lens
Crows whisper their legends to your camera as light bounces off snow at the Grand Canyon

Crank the heater
What could be sweeter than laughter and apathy
Going 90 down the 5 in search of something deeper than the same bullshit routine
I’m enraptured by the feeling; siren’s screaming
Red and blue ignite our mirror
What’s a ticket compared to this beauty?
Don’t sink down, baby, fight the fear
You’re better here

Eryn Mackenzie

Leave a comment