The Wild Woman and the Alchemist

Winter had never been warmer
I had Orion in my sight
Uttered words of no commitment as we crept into the night

Spring blistered into summer
Skin flushed; clothes set aflame
Midnight skies were incandescent
Stars dripped down like June’s rains

We’d drive up and down the West Coast trying to escape our brains
I’d hang my body out the window; stretch my arms out as I sang

Made our way to the river to feel the water on our shins
I think that’s when I chose to tell you that I couldn’t swim
We were young and the leaves were this vibrant shade of green
Spent the daylight oversharing as we stumbled through the trees

The Autumn winds that bit our skin were surely a stroke of cess
With a bottle lain between us; how that whiskey warmed our chests
In that moment I swore to all the Gods I loved you free of doubt
Your being is a religion of which I am devout

She’s the essence of Saturn and he’s Mercury personified
Sharp tongued lovers predestined to collide
The Sun is in her hair and the moons are in her eyes
He’s an intellect with shaking legs just trying to keep time

The Wild Woman and The Alchemist
A quintessential pair
Bound by soul and season
I am the Earth to his Air

 

Eryn Mackenzie 2020

Leave a comment